Hand Made: Rope Curtains

Finally!! I finished my latest ‘hand made’ which has taken me a while – mainly because of trial and error. But that’s why i’m posting these – no need for you to have the ‘error’ part! :)

This idea came a while ago but I never made it happen. Billy and I love our little apartment, and throughout the year have made it ‘ours’. However, we are currently renting and have plans to buy. So there are some things that I can’t justify putting in our apartment. One of those was curtain rod/curtains. What if the height is different in the new house – they would be a waste! And I love the antiquey looking, anthropology style curtain rods. Well, that will have to wait!

So here we go with our new ‘rope curtain rod’ tutorial:

Things needed:

  •  Real rope – bought at Home Depot, they cut to your measurements
  • Screw hooks – preferably with a ‘pointed’ end so you don’t need a nut or bolt
  • Drill
  • Spray paint
  • Tie back (I bought mine from World Market for $10)
  • Curtains – you have options here!! If your curtains will hang infront of a window/wall then you could use drop cloth and clip rings
  • If your curtains can be seen from both sides this wont work – so I found mine for $20 from Home Goods

This is how your rope will come – it’s off of a spool at Home Depot – I guessed 17ft off the top of my head and it actually worked perfectly! But it’s so cheap just over estimate and it will be fine.


My initial concept was to use painters drop cloth and these clip rings I bought from Amazon. I realised this would be fine if it was backing onto a window where you couldn’t see behind where the clips were and could just see the drop cloth. But as mine is being used as a room divider you can see both sides so went with drapes.

The next step is where I made my second ‘error’. I bought the eye hooks above – that come with a bolt and flat end. These are much harder to drill into the wall and you have to drill the hole first. So I went back to Home Depot and bought the eye hooks you see below. I then spray painted them an ‘oil rubbed bronze’ color – but the silver would look cool for a more modern/industrial look.

This is my tie back I bought from World Market – although Anthropologie have some really cool ones!! Just make sure the rope can twist around it multiple times.

I now turns into ‘we’ :) We drilled 3 of the eye hooks – to make sure the curtains can still fully close!

These were the screws we had laying around – so they got used! :)

If you know how to do fancy knots…then teach me! I just tied the end into a couple of big knots. The rope will naturally fray over time – which is another reason why you should buy more than you need.

Home Goods had a great selection of curtains. I also found that with the painters drop cloth the material was really heaving and it make the rop ‘sag’ a little. So I went with these which are much lighter. But any curtains will do!!


Kaya thinks I’m crazy…..

The finished (and waiting to be ironed) product!…

I actually really like them. Although they were meant as a temporary fix I think I would do these again when we decide to buy! I love the natural rope and the total price came to way under $100 ($75 to be exact) – you can’t beat it! Well maybe you can – I would love to see it!! :)

Happy Wednesday – hope you enjoyed this week’s Hand Made :)

Leave a Reply

